The Electoral System in Malta

 Malta is a parliamentary democracy which elects 65 members to its House of Representatives.

 The members are elected from thirteen 5-seat constituences (districts) for a term of 5 years.

 The electoral system used is that of proportional representation by means of the Single Transferrable Vote.

 All citizens above the age of 18 and whose name is published in the latest Electoral Register before 
      the General Election is held are eligible to vote.

Resources: Department of Information, Electoral Commission, Malta Data, Michael J. Schiavone